We build. You grow.

Get best community software here

Start a social network, a fan-site, an education project with oxwall - free opensource community software

Admin over-ride | Forum

Vince
Vince Dec 29 '11
I've been trying to set up my site so people are restricted from some things but not others.

The biggest problem I'm facing is that the Admin can't do anything outside of the Admin area.

Example:

Free Members can't upload videos or create blogs, that sort of thing.

As an Admin, I'd like to be able to do things without having to log into my user account (upgraded) to do things like upload videos, start a blog entry and so on. As an Admin, all I get is a message saying "You can't view this page due to limited permissions"

Is there something I'm missing?

One would think that as the Administrator, you can do anything you need to without having to grant yourself permissions and then remove them after you've completed your task.

It makes no sense to me :/

As far as I've known, pretty much any other script allows an admin to make changes or do things that a regular or upgraded member would be able to do without having to log in with a user name.

Something to consider when working on the development side of things. While I have your attention, is it possible to work on allowing this script to be installed on a secure server using https://www

I've had to resort to using the unsecured domain extension to access my site without redirect loop errors. I've already tried the adjustment to the config file and yes, it works for the footer links, but if you try to log in or log out or various other things, you get an error message saying that you are in a loop that will never end. Then I'm forced to have to try other options to get the site to display. I've had to change the https back to http in the config file and I'm not liking it.