We build. You grow.

Get best community software here

Start a social network, a fan-site, an education project with oxwall - free opensource community software

Trouble assigning user roles - SimplyResponsive - SB | Forum

ricardo scipio
ricardo scipio Mar 17 '18
Thank you for the great theme. I'm sorry to admit that I'm a newbie. My issue is that All my users including the admin are classified as free users and when I try to designate anyone as a moderator or other role I cannot. And when I create new roles it won't allow me to designate anyone in the new roles either.

In other words, I cannot assign any other role except free accounts, and the moderator tools page shows up as blank.

Darryl B Leader
Darryl B Mar 18 '18
The theme is only a visual representation. All of the functionality is provided by the core, or plugins.
To add new user roles you need to go to admin / users / user roles.  Once you create the additional user roles you can then assign them to users.
To add moderators you go to admin / users / moderators.
The moderation tools requires this plugin.
https://developers.oxwall.com/store/item/1012
ricardo scipio
ricardo scipio Mar 18 '18
both of those functions are not working on my site. It only allows one category of membership which is free members, I can create additional user roles which I have, but it doesn't allow me to assign anyone to those new user roles, I've added moderators and it does allow me to do that but when you go back to user roles, it shows all users as free users and zero moderators.

Is there anyone you could recommend that I could hire to help me fix the core coding?

Darryl B Leader
Darryl B Mar 18 '18
You are able to create roles in the admin, and assign moderators in the admin. When you go to the users profile, and open the moderation drop down, and choose user roles, the new roles aren't showing up?