We build. You grow.

Get best community software here

Start a social network, a fan-site, an education project with oxwall - free opensource community software

Multi-purpose Oxwall Bridge | Forum

JB TECH
JB TECH Nov 13 '13
When I took to thinking of what Oxwall, as a software and not a plugin or theme, needs, I came to the conclusion of a 'Multi-purpose Oxwall bridge.' This idea arose with me when I made a Help Center website with just HTML, CSS and JS. I wanted the sub-directory site to get the logged user's Real Name from my Oxwall site and simply display it in the string where it says 'What do you need help with?' I was told by someone of the OW Team that such a thing would require much work and modification in a separate software or the form of a plugin.

That, of course, comes across as tedious to me being that I have online classes, am trying to start my business, and I'm not very good with PHP. So, I thought it'd be a nice idea to well..share this idea. I think it'd be a nice idea to get some of the plugin developers and even the OW team together to create a multi-purpose Oxwall bridge. A bridge that'll allow site owners to easily retrieve logged user's names and details for other sites configured in sub domains/sub-directories of the main Oxwall installation. 

I know it shouldn't require to much of a hasty algorithm, it may not even need one. The idea is a system that, let's say, can be uploaded in your main directory of your Oxwall installation, and will include php files and more that can:

-Retrieve information from registered users of the site

-Set up an enviroment for certain PHP calls and functions that will request retrieved user data

-Have a list of defined variables that can be implemented into webpages stored in sub-directories of the installed OW directory

-Attain Connected Database info

-Check the status of the logged session and user.