We build. You grow.

Get best community software here

Start a social network, a fan-site, an education project with oxwall - free opensource community software

Post content only to friends? | Forum

Topic location: Forum home » Support » General Questions
Dominik
Dominik Mar 8 '14
Hello there,

i hope this is not a kind of stupid question but i'm quite new to oxwall.

Is there any possibility to make a new status update private? I.e. posting only to friends?

Thanks in advance.

//Dominik

Joseph
Joseph Mar 9 '14
at this time there are only 2 options 1 is the main newsfeed that posts to everyone and the dashboard that only shows friends and people you follow. A great idea though maybe someone will make a plugin for this
John
John Mar 9 '14
Hi Dominik, Sadly the developers at Oxwall have overlooked this exceptionally important feature. The end result is that Oxwall is unsuitable for hundreds (if not 1000's) of sites that deal with adults and minors, or material that could be considered "sensitive" to some.

Here we have a site that builds on friendships, but allows everyone to read, or see everything. In other words, everyone is your friend whether you like it or not.

Oxwall have virtually built a boat without a rudder!

For Oxwall to be accepted by a vastly huger audience, they must address this problem and address it urgently.

Facebook allows you to mark everything you do as Public, Private or Friends Only. So too does Elgg, Oxwalls biggest competitor. The pity is that Elgg lets us down in other ways and with just a little tweaking on Oxwall's part it could easily become the premier social networking script. I don't think it's reached that status yet by a long shot, but it could be done very soon if the developers concentrated on these issues instead of the mobile version which is equally useless if the computer version is lacking.