We build. You grow.

Get best community software here

Start a social network, a fan-site, an education project with oxwall - free opensource community software

verification e-mail | Forum

Andy Tan
Andy Tan Jun 25 '14
Hi,

this is my first try with an Oxwall installation, and already stumbled with the verification e-mail. Browsing through the forum I've learned I do not necessarily need to set up an SMTP account for sending out verification e-mails. 

Worse, prior to receiving the verification e-mail I am completely blocked from accessing the website and presented with a re-send form. 

My Oxwall was automatic installed through Justhost's Simple Script, so I wasn't very familiar with all the installation settings.

Could it be the reason for the failed verification process?

Thanks.

ross Team
ross Jun 25 '14
I'm sorry did you get the verification e-mail or not?
Andy Tan
Andy Tan Jun 26 '14

Quote from ross I'm sorry did you get the verification e-mail or not?

I never did, actually. And so were my friends. I had to go in as admin and force them manually to let them pass and help me to test the site. I tried with my own 3 e-mails accounts, all failed.

I only have one active hosting at the moment, so I can't test whether it's my hosting problem or not.

The Forum post is edited by Andy Tan Jun 26 '14
ross Team
ross Jun 26 '14
Verification e-mail is sent out directly via mail server, so the problem is obviously there. 
Andy Tan
Andy Tan Jun 26 '14

Quote from ross Verification e-mail is sent out directly via mail server, so the problem is obviously there. 

Justhost always refused to provide any level of support for 3rd party software, while I'm clueless about webserver settings. Would you care to point out where I can start looking? 

Currently I reset the Oxwall SMTP setting to default. New users still stuck at verification step.

ross Team
ross Jun 26 '14