We build. You grow.

Get best community software here

Start a social network, a fan-site, an education project with oxwall - free opensource community software

Installation Issue - FTP Accesss - Correctable or Start Over? | Forum

Dick
Dick Dec 5 '14
Hello,

I am new to Oxwall and have not been able to connect by FTP for updates so far and would appreciate some guidance to a solution.

I have read every post in the forum on the subject and tried every possible FTP access form filling combination possible before making this posting.

I have verified with Ross that the correct Oxwall IP address has been added to my FTP access by white list only list as well as allowed in my .htaccess file.

I think that I may have made some errors during the installation process and I would like to know if they are correctable or if I have to reinstall Oxwall in order to try to resolve my issue.

When I originally downloaded the Oxwall software, I specified a username and password for an SFTP account but then discovered that I had to manually upload the software since Oxwall is not currently SFTP compatible.

Now that the software is uploaded, my original username and password do not seem to allow FTP access and there appears to be no way to change the credentials in the ow_includes/config.php file without causing an error.

I have also tried creating a new FTP account specifically for Oxwall as described here:
 https://docs.oxwall.org/...plugins-and-themes?s[]=cpanel
but the new login credentials do not work either.

I would ideally like to have the capability to update the software, plugins and themes conveniently by FTP in the admin area.

I wonder if my installation issues can be corrected or if I need to start over and reinstall in order to have the FTP access capability?

Any advice and assistance would be greatly appreciated.
Zsolt Biro
Zsolt Biro Dec 6 '14
hi,

almost the same request here.

I would like to create an ftp access to update the plugins.