We build. You grow.

Get best community software here

Start a social network, a fan-site, an education project with oxwall - free opensource community software

Newbie Oxwallian - a few Q's | Forum

Topic location: Forum home » Support » General Questions
Bridgette
Bridgette Jun 3 '16
Hello out there,

I'm new to Oxwall though not to CMS & site building. Have many (ugh.. many!) years of experience with various platforms.

I setup the test server and I'm at the 'hmmm, I wonder if..." stage. So for anyone who reads this and can shed some light -- a fresh batch of home baked chocolate chip cookies and eternal gratitude!

1. Free vs Paid: Difference between the free version (with 50$ brand removal fee) and the paid? [Why buy this other than to support the good work they are doing, which is always a good idea] Are there any special features?

2. Template: Is there any guide for making new templates or altering old ones?

3. Youtube links not embed: embed code is a PITA. Any way to support links (on current version of Oxwall please. I see a plug in at the store for an older version, but won't work now)

4. Ability to integrate (bridge?) other chat systems? (Rocket Chat or Comet)

5. Best Payment/membership plug ins in your opinion?

If I have broken some secret pact you guys have to never post these sort of stupid questions - forgive me. I'm new around here. :)

Thank you,

Bri

dave Leader
dave Jun 3 '16
Hi Bridgette, i love cookies please make them sugar free please, my pancreas will thank you :)

Unfortunately its the weekend for the Oxwall folks and i am a kind volunteer :)   I cannot answer number 1 because i dont have the paid version. 

However as per: 

2.  Yes there is a guide, 

https://wiki.oxwall.com/...themes-for-beginners

3.  Yes, the youtube links will parse on the newsfeed, however to add a new video in the videos plugin you will need the embed code.  Maybe i should ask what issue you are having with the embed codes, they should be copy and paste.