We build. You grow.

Get best community software here

Start a social network, a fan-site, an education project with oxwall - free opensource community software

CSRF Token Invalid caused by router connection | Forum

dave Leader
dave May 6 '19
I am not a system engineer or guru so i thought i would ask on here.  I have a customer who is getting the CSRF token invalid due his local machine being his linux server and he is connecting to his website via the same router.  

So it seems Oxwall thinks he is trying to shadow in behind himself which will trigger the CSRF token when the token does not match.   

We have eliminated everything else, its not a browser issue or a coding issue or a plugin issue.   I can access the site and everything works fine from my end. 

Since he uses a local machine as his linux server, does anyone know the solution for this?   Anyone know or can make suggestions?

UPDATE:  im thinking maybe using a google proxy for his pc connection would work.

The Forum post is edited by dave May 6 '19
Patricia Zorrilla Leader
Patricia Zorrilla May 6 '19
A very simple solution is to comment on these lines of the file ow_core / form.php

dave Leader
dave May 6 '19
Thanks Patricia, yes easy however i dont like to tell customers to modify core code as they have to keep doing that with ever update (yes i know, what update right lol )   Plus bypassing security code is not my first option.  That is up to the client to do this, thanks for the suggestion, hope you are doing well.  :)
Patricia Zorrilla Leader

I give you options ... your choices, hahaha!

At least it can serve as a temporary remedy.

The "security hole" that is created only affects members who are filling out a form, only during that time, if they leave without closing the session, if OxWall does not close it by default, if the hacker knows how and why to attack and OxWall is not used to make bank websites either.

Patricia Zorrilla Leader