We build. You grow.

Get best community software here

Start a social network, a fan-site, an education project with oxwall - free opensource community software

How do I make a separate profile type? | Forum

Topic location: Forum home » Support » General Questions
Victor
Victor Dec 5 '12
Hello,

I'm new to Oxwall. I need to create two different kind of profiles.

One the usual one and another with a few limited features.

Lets say for example, we need to create a student profile and a college profile.

Students can make friends but can only follow a college. Also, it's important to have just one college for any student. Students cant add college as friend, neither can college do that to a student.

If its possible, there should be an approval system for college to approve who follows the college.

Is this possible with Oxwall? If yes, then can anyone guide me please?

Thanks for your time.

Victor Daniel Tremblay
Hi Victor,

From the Admin go to users/user roles and define a student and a College user.  Then modify the Profile Questions related to each of them and possibly their permissions.

Hope it helps.

Victor
Victor Dec 6 '12
Hello Victor Daniel Tremblay,

Thanks for your reply. Profile questions is not exactly what I'm looking for.

I'm looking for changing certain features or turning features on or off, which, sadly is not covered in role permission management page. 

Also, since the "Free" role is default for all, the permissions are not working for me either.

I wish to know if there's any way I can get this done? may be a plugin?

Thanks.

Alia Team
Alia Dec 10 '12

>>Lets say for example, we need to create a student profile and a college profile.

Students can make friends but can only follow a college. Also, it's important to have just one college for any student. Students cant add college as friend, neither can college do that to a student.