We build. You grow.

Get best community software here

Start a social network, a fan-site, an education project with oxwall - free opensource community software

Trying to install oxwall on localhost. | Forum

Puneet
Puneet May 24 '13
I am new to oxwall and facing issues into installation of oxwall.

I have already enabled mod_rewrite.

Properly checked .htaccess file also.

Please guide me in proper direction. I am going to develop very interesting plugin for oxwall but unable to move ahead.

[Edited] Please check the attached screenshot. I think you can understand my problem more precisely.

Thank You, 

Puneet Singhal

The Forum post is edited by Puneet May 24 '13
Attachments:
  Selection_004.png (34.66Kb)
dave Leader
dave May 24 '13
Why are you trying to install it to localhost?  It should go in the public_html folder of your domain.  Do you have a domain registered?
Puneet
Puneet May 28 '13
I have registered domain but I want to develop plugins and customize template. How can I develop plugins on localhost, please guide me in proper direction.

dave Leader
dave May 28 '13

Well there are several ways. 

1. You can install apache, php, pdo on your local desktop using the downloadable windows versions.  And develope locally before sending it live.  (which has some limitations is still a popular way)

2. You can set up a devopment environment (as i do with my scripts) using one of your cPanel accounts and a add-on or subdomain and then limit access to that area. 

2a.  You can also do #2 in conjunction with using a development (what i call a version control)  script which will give you some features as you develope, including change logs, a diff feature which compares two files and shows you the diff between then, and a file sign in sign out feature in the event you have multiple people working on the same script.