We build. You grow.

Get best community software here

Start a social network, a fan-site, an education project with oxwall - free opensource community software

The future of Oxwall | Forum

Anmar
Anmar Jun 27 '13

Hello everyone im new to Oxwall and I like it.

I believe it has strong potentials to become the leading open source social network.

I want to share with the community about few points hoping we could discuss it openly.

Soon Oxwall will reach to version 1.6 which is great. I have tested Oxwall on two beta sites 1 is a recommended host by Oxwall team the other 1 is normal shared hosting. When I used the recommended hosting I faced problems with email verification for new users which I summarized my experience in this post

http://www.oxwall.org/forum/topic/11829

As for the other host (not in the recommended hosts) I have faced many problems such as

Internal server errors, Video plugin does not except iframe …etc.

What I want to point out that many users face several problem when they want to create an independent site from all the other giants we face many difficulties. Oxwall team has developed oxwall system to assist the people to create their own social network and I thank the team.

Me highlighting these point for the propose to maybe that oxwall future does not require new features at the time been, with the current features its simply great.

What Oxwall future needs is to refactor its code and reexamine its architecture with a focus on its stability and reliability. (a great car without breaks its almost not useable)

-Issues like email verification for new users not working is considered hug problem.

-A new plugin can conflict with some of the system features which make some of oxwall features disfunction is also considered a problem.

-Also a very high attention on the different browser compatibility (I have noticed several posts in the forum which ends up the problem from the browser).

- Few other common issues do exist.