We build. You grow.

Get best community software here

Start a social network, a fan-site, an education project with oxwall - free opensource community software

external chat integration (no tyni) | Forum

Topic location: Forum home » Support » General Questions
Dantes
Dantes Jul 12 '11
hi there...i stop on this
http://www.envolve.com
any one know if i there is any way to integrate the site with this chat?
they said something about making a plug in to do it
but im not a programmer
any ideas?
BR
Michael Leader
Michael Jul 13 '11
You don't need to make a plugin. You just create a custom html box on your main page, paste in the code and make sure the html box is moved to your sidebar, that way it will stay loaded nomatter what page the person visits.

In fact this is quite a cool find. The only downside is that like most other chats there is now way to lock the chat username down to the site user. If it could be integrated into Oxwall's login then this would be a fine edition to any oxwall site.

My problem is that people could call themselves anyone, including admin which will open up for abuse and you have no real moderation with it. *Well you can admin it by setting up moderation in evolve itself and blocking guest sign in.)

Making people join ANOTHER site will annoy them.

But well done for finding this... I am considering how to use this in my site........

If you need any help getting it working on your site PM me...
Dantes
Dantes Jul 13 '11
hi michael thanks for the answer BUT i know how to put it into my website
BUT i note this
and i quote
"If you have a custom website and want to integrate Envolve with your user accounts, you'll need to use our API.

We have libraries available for sites written in PHP, Java, Perl, Python, Ruby and C#, with more coming soon. We strongly recommend developers read the API overview before getting started. There are also additional API options available.
"
that why they said about making a plugin could do the integration