We build. You grow.

Get best community software here

Start a social network, a fan-site, an education project with oxwall - free opensource community software

Two general questions | Forum

Frank Lorenz
Frank Lorenz Jan 2 '14
Hi,
I'm a developer experienced in C / C++ and, to learn some PHP and Web programming, now try to adapt a plugin for Oxwall for the needs of a friend who runs an Oxwall server.

To get started, I have two questions:
1. I cannot find any library reference / code documentation to get an overview of the Oxwall source code - is there any (beside the plugin crashcourse)?

2. Inside the plugin I started to write for testing (based on the crash course), it looks like the 'init.php' contents are execute every 5 seconds. My idea of an 'init' is that this is called only once when the page is loaded?
If init.php is executed every five seconds by intention - where to put some code that shall be executed only once?
Kieron H Leader
Kieron H Jan 2 '14
there is a plugin you install on a testsite http://www.oxwall.org/store/item/695
Frank Lorenz
Frank Lorenz Jan 2 '14
Hi Kieron,

yes, thank you, I already saw this. So this is the only place where I can find some kind of docs?

best regards,
Frank
Kieron H Leader
Kieron H Jan 2 '14
maybe some tutorial website somewhere 
Frank Lorenz
Frank Lorenz Jan 2 '14
But not some kind of reference?
How shall I find out what classes are part of Oxwall, and what properties and methods they have?
Kieron H Leader
Kieron H Jan 2 '14
the plugin should help with that also you could use inspect element to see what is what on your page 
Frank Lorenz
Frank Lorenz Jan 2 '14
In other words: There must be some interface between the Oxwall 'core' and the 'plugin'. Does the skeleton cover the whole interface, or how do I discover what to use?
Kieron H Leader
Kieron H Jan 2 '14
sorry i dot know i havnt used the plugin 
Frank Lorenz
Frank Lorenz Jan 2 '14
O.k., thanks for you help.
Kieron H Leader
Kieron H Jan 2 '14
your welcome 
Dave S