We build. You grow.

Get best community software here

Start a social network, a fan-site, an education project with oxwall - free opensource community software

Failed to open steam : permission denied | Forum

Vivek
Vivek Jul 24 '14
Hi , I am getting this error while updating 1.6 to 1.7 .
I have provide 777 -R permission to folder still this problem coming .
screenshot attached
Attachments:
  log.png (122.84Kb)
ross Team
ross Jul 24 '14
Vivek, how do you update your software? manually or auto? If auto, can you please try it manually. If you do that manually, please check the update pack ow_core/session_authenticator.php file is there. 
Vivek
Vivek Jul 24 '14
Hi ross,
i am trying auto-update. I have few questions about update. how does it affect the functionality of 3rd party plugins if i try to auto update with or without disabling it ?
And why do user need to disable to 3rd party plugins while updating,what and where is the conflict ?
I am a developer of one of 3rd party plugin. I am trying to make same test environment like our client . I want to use auto-update ,manual update wont work in my case.
ross Team
ross Jul 24 '14
Well, 3 party plugins may just interfere the update process, for example they may use some class or method, which is not used or modified in some way in 1.7 and they can break the update process, which is why we asked our members to disable them before doing the update. 

Can you specify, please why you can't do the manual update?

Vivek
Vivek Jul 24 '14
one of our client gave feedback that our plugin is not working after he/she auto-update the site. So , i am trying to make same test environment to check where is the problem. I tried using plugin on fresh 1.7 version and It is working fine.
Problems i was having in auto-update from 1.6 to 1.7 were
First, There was permission error (something like files cannot be overwrite) . There was problem in user permission [Fixed]