We build. You grow.

Get best community software here

Start a social network, a fan-site, an education project with oxwall - free opensource community software

Photo uploading error | Forum

Robert
Robert Sep 7 '15
Hi,

I'm new to Oxwall, but I have been reading and searching in regards to this problem I am having without success.

The problem: Photos, particularly large photos, will not always upload. I have uploaded images up to 6MB with success, but often photos larger than 1MB will fail. The loading circle just spins (for hours if I let it). The problem occurs in any section of the site that photos can be added. The only photo upload section that appears to work all the time is avatars - I can always get these to upload correctly!

Things I have tried (all without result)
Changing my server file size limits and setting larger file sizes in oxwall.
Changing themes.
Clearing cache.
Removing photos plugin and reinstalling.
Uploading with different browsers and user accounts.

Can anyone shed some light on this problem? Is it common and is there a fix?

Thanks for any help you can offer!

Edit: I'm running the latest version of oxwall 1.7.5

Robert
The Forum post is edited by Robert Sep 7 '15
ross Team
ross Sep 7 '15
Robert, do the photos less than 1Mb upload fine? 

Robert
Robert Sep 7 '15

Quote from ross Robert, do the photos less than 1Mb upload fine? 

Yes. Any photo under 1MB will upload virtually instantly. However, photos over this size are hit and miss (sometimes they upload and sometimes they display the behaviour I have described above).

I just tested a 900KB photo and 1.5MB photo and both worked. However, a 4MB photo didn't work. Then I tested another 1.5MB photo and it didn't work!
ross Team
ross Sep 7 '15