We build. You grow.

Get best community software here

Start a social network, a fan-site, an education project with oxwall - free opensource community software

question on where I would be able to place this shoutbox? - Shoutbox | Forum

Ovidiu
Ovidiu Feb 6 '16
hi, sorry if this is a dumb question, I am new to the administration of oxwall

if I install this plugin where will I be able to place it without having to write code?

will I be able to have a dedicated page/tab which will show only this plugin? a page/tab right next to "member","forums","groups","shoutbox" ?

if I can't place it there, where will I be able to place it? again, without having to code anything.

thank you

Unus
Unus Mar 23 '16
the answer is here:

http://www.oxwall.org/forum/topic/46315

and in short is like this: shoutbox is not a real plugin, it is a widget which is not very clear from its description and it is misleading the customers to believe they buy a plugin. they do not buy a plug in, they buy a widget. what this means? it means you can place it only on the dashboard or index page. if you want to place it on a different page (new page for example) you can't, you immediately will be asked to hire a developer. you'll not even get information on how to change the code (if you can code) to actually place it on a different page. 

this is not nice. I foresee I will give them a pretty bad review :(

Zaph
Zaph Mar 23 '16
I do not mislead anyone. You can see the demo before buying the plugin and ask me if it is possible or not.

Also you do not know how the plugin works and claim that it is a widget and not a plugin. How the widget works then?

There is no separate page but you can place Shoutbox on the most common pages that support widget and change places as you wish without coding. You can place it on Index page, Dashboard, Groups page and it will be shown according to the group permission.

If you can code you will be able to place it anywhere, if not... well, you hire the developer.