We build. You grow.

Get best community software here

Start a social network, a fan-site, an education project with oxwall - free opensource community software

Serious Plugin issues in the Store and the Developers | Forum

Topic location: Forum home » Support » Oxwall Store
Webster Molaudi
Webster Molaudi Feb 23 '16
Dear Oxwall,

I have been using oxwall for almost 3 years now and with 50 to 100 plugins running on my network - http://www.myvirgo.info i have invested a lot of money, time and effort to get my oxwall website to be where it is now.

I have 2 serious issues that i want to talk about which are very worrying and if Oxwall doesn't listen to us the user they will experience its growth and lose current users.

1. Free Plugins 

I have noticed a lot of developers load free plugins onto the store to get or rather gain popularity and use us as website owners as bait for new possible plugin buyers as we download and install their plugins, after they get enough downloads and positive reviews, they start to charge for it and on their next update you find that you've been using a free plugin now you have to pay to get it to work. Now with the 1.8.1 Oxwall we are forced to buy new plugins that we got for free because if we don't put a license the plugin on the next cron automatically disables itself.  I find this very unfair and abuse of users or site owners if you offer something for free then after few months you charge say so in the Description so we dont bother.

SOLUTION :

Developers we know you want to benefit from your plugin but if you give a free plugin rather make another plugin which is premium

* ( Plugin 1 - Lite Version is FREE with limited features )
* ( Plugin 2 - Premium Version is Paid with more features)

This way we both win, now we have sites with 10 / 15 free plugin forced to pay for which is unfair.

2. Dev's Plugins not Updated & Developers not Attending Issues