We build. You grow.

Get best community software here

Start a social network, a fan-site, an education project with oxwall - free opensource community software

Bootstrap, Where To Start? - Bootstrap | Forum

Miss Nookie
Miss Nookie Aug 8 '16
Hi Ebenezer!

As you know, I just downloaded your Bootstrap plugin.

What theme would you recommend I use to start at the most basic level, to develop a clean bootstrap theme for an Oxwall/SkaDate site?

I am new to Oxwall, but not to customizing themes.

Thank you so much for offering it, and for suggesting I post here. 

*smiles*

- Nookie
Darryl B Leader
Darryl B Aug 8 '16
Since the Simplicity theme is the base theme, and pretty much a blank canvas, it would probably be the best to customize. The base theme isn't very responsive, but they do have some media queries built in. I did 4 renditions of the Simplicity theme, and made them responsive as well as added some other customizations. It is one of the newer free themes.
Miss Nookie
Miss Nookie Aug 8 '16
Oh. Well, I have that one. I'll pull it out.

I also have a few others that I can cobble from, as needed for details and functionality. LOL!

I'm a code magpie.
Darryl B Leader
Darryl B Aug 8 '16
There are some things you may want to do to have a theme play around with.
1. Create another folder, and copy the theme to it.
2. Edit theme xml file. change the fields as necessary theme name, author, developer key...etc "
If you go to the store / developer tools, you will see your developer key there.

Each theme has to have a unique key for the DB.
Darryl B Leader
Darryl B Aug 8 '16
You can look at the different theme xml files to get an idea.
Miss Nookie
Miss Nookie Aug 8 '16
I've done that. And made my previews and such from my mock-ups.

*smiles*

I'm curious about testing. It seems like the theme pages don't update quickly/easily when I make changes to them. I tend to tweak/test/tweak/test.