We build. You grow.

Get best community software here

Start a social network, a fan-site, an education project with oxwall - free opensource community software

VERY strange 500 error. | Forum

Gerry
Gerry Nov 14 '16
I'm trying to set up my first Oxwall site to use as a test site.

My VPS is set up and running. A static holding page works fine. BUT, as soon as I upload my Oxwall files, the domain is down with a 500 error. I dont even get as far as the first installation page. The holding page cant be reached, neither can phpinfo that I put on to try and see if there was an issue there.

Anyone had this, or know what the issue is?
dave Leader
dave Nov 14 '16
Hi, welcome to Oxwall. 

Does your server meet the specs on the right side of this page? 
https://developers.oxwall.com/hosting

Gerry
Gerry Nov 14 '16
Pretty sure it does.

But if it wasnt, that wouldnt cause this simply by uploading the zip file, and extracting it, or would it? I'm no VPS expert.
dave Leader
dave Nov 14 '16
well yes and no, uploading the zip would not, extracting it would not, but trying to access the install if something is not right with the server yes that would cause 500
dave Leader
dave Nov 14 '16
here is how you can check those items.. or ask your host... 

https://developers.oxwall.com/forum/topic/47677

Just remember that since you have unzipped the oxwall files now you will need to do that phpinfo in your config file.  Oxwall is set up so that it will not run anything but its own files unless you tell it, but that is a different matter.  Just do the second part of that process in that link i gave you and check your phpinfo

The Forum post is edited by dave Nov 14 '16
Gerry
Gerry Nov 14 '16
All no Oxwall files except the cgi-bin have been removed. Nothing has changed.

I just took this from the error log. I think it may be part or all of the issue, but have no idea how to fix it.