We build. You grow.

Get best community software here

Start a social network, a fan-site, an education project with oxwall - free opensource community software

$content location ? | Forum

Topic location: Forum home » Support » General Questions
Waleed
Waleed Jul 15 '17
Hi guys,
I am trying to modifiy the default simplicity theme. The home page (not logged in) has 2 columns and i am trying to add another column, because i of the increase width of the main content (.ow_canvas).

so when i looked in the files I found {$content}. Could you please give the file locations where this is defined so I can modifiy the classes and add another column.

I'm a programmer so don't mind getting technical.
Darryl B Leader
Darryl B Jul 15 '17
I am definitely no programmer, but I'm guessing you looked in the general html file for the theme, and seen where they had a top section, and a bottom section with the $content between them. This is pulling from the core, and loads all of the site content, and I'm guessing the left, and right sections. I don't know where all of that code is specifically located. Looking through some of the files there are several files related to content, and sections, but what each does is way beyond me. If you are referring to adding the sidebar component, that isn't done by modifying core files. That is done by adding the component to the general, and dnd index html files for the theme along with the css to support the sidebar. I referenced the files from themes that had the sidebar to successfully add it to my themes.
Waleed
Waleed Jul 16 '17
Firstly thanks for replying as I did make a thread earlier too.

I am working on a theme and want to add another column on some pages like main.
I have looked through the core and found the functions which do the background work but the content like the page layout is location somewhere else (i think in .html files).

So how could i get access to $content file/folder ?
Waleed
Waleed Jul 16 '17