We build. You grow.

Get best community software here

Start a social network, a fan-site, an education project with oxwall - free opensource community software

message timing (error, warning, info) | Forum

dave Leader
dave Feb 1 '20
Hi, does anyone happen to know how oxwall times their info, error, and warning messages.  It has to be some kind of animation or fadeOut in css but i have found nothing for those two items that has anything to do with messages.  I want to set my messages to stay longer on the page.  Im still digging :)   
dave Leader
dave Feb 1 '20
got it.... the sneaky devil....  its in ow/static/plugins/base/js/ow.js and its set to 3000 milliseconds which is about 3 seconds...  but since im not that good with js im not sure how to change the value per plugin...  its not like css where you can just re value the element... 

yes thats it as i changed it to 10000 from 3000 and the message stayed longer..  

so line 13 shows it has 3 params  message, type and paramTime

So i assume that the message and the type it gets from OW::getFeedback()  so what im trying is to add 1000 someplace in OW::getFeedback()  to see if i can set the paramTime from the plugin. 

OW::getFeedback()->warning($language->text('pluginname', 'plugin lang key goes here'));  

so there has to be a place in there somewhere to set the paramTime  parameter.  At least that sounds logical to me....  

SD do you have any idea since your awesome at JS :)

I dont see where they ever submit any time to the js function, they just let it fall through to the default var of 3000.  nothing i have seen so far does anything with that attribute...  

I was able to add the time to the message getFeedback array, but the time was not any longer..  So i will say i tried and leave this for someone else lol ....  its not that critical although would be nice to have the messages stay longer. 

The Forum post is edited by dave Feb 1 '20
dave Leader
dave Feb 1 '20